My Sports Lens: Love For Freedom Through Sport By Cheryl Roberts

20 Aug

 

I’ve had this social justice consciousness since I was a teenage girl, experiencing life under harsh apartheid laws and confinement to racial neighbourhoods, schools and social spaces of leisure, recreation and entertainment.

cheryl roberts

I had just entered my teen years and reading about international women tennis stars like Chris Evert and Martina Navratilova inspired me to play sport, to play tennis.

Growing up in South Africa during the 70’s and 80’s meant you just could not run away or ignore your skin colour. South Africa had an institutionalized and formal policy called Apartheid which was implemented by the Nationalist government in power, from national level to local level of government and administration.

 

I wasn’t white; was classified ‘Coloured’ according to Apartheid legislation. This meant I was a second class citizen, was oppressed, was disenfranchised and would not have access to resources, privileges, amenities as that given to people classified white.

 

I open with this little explanation, so that we better understand where I’m coming from and why I pursue an equitable sports paradigm with a particular emphasis on redistribution of the sports wealth and opportunities and access to sport, for black people and working class communities.

 

South in 2015 is a non-racial, democratic, non-sexist country according to our post-apartheid constitution; one of the world’s best constitutions for honouring, acceptance and implementation of human rights. However, 20 years after our freedom was attained from oppression and apartheid, South Africa, as a country in transition, is still a society of the advantaged (the haves) and disadvantaged (the have-nots) of a minority privileged class, an emerging middle class and a majority working class.

 

Your social positioning reflects how you participate in life and society. If you have the means and money, you will enjoy a comfortable life. If you are a struggling worker, unemployed person, then life’s offers such as sport will remain a privilege. I am not only aware of society’s inequalities and wealth gaps; I also see it and experience it. I don’t like to see our society so divided, so affluent for a minority grouping and so undermining of the working class who mainly struggle and battle to survive.

 

I’ve had this social justice consciousness since I was a teenage girl, experiencing life under harsh apartheid laws and confinement to racial neighbourhoods, schools and social spaces of leisure, recreation and entertainment.

 

I had just entered my teen years and reading about international women tennis stars like Chris Evert and Martina Navratilova inspired me to play sport, to play tennis.

 

 

Apartheid Blocks Teenage Sports girl

 

In my neighbourhood, called Wentworth in Durban there were no public tennis courts in the community and none in our few schools. I started hitting a tennis ball on the road with neighbour friends; got a carpenter in the hood to make a tennis bat for me. I desperately wanted to play tennis. What could I do? On the way to another neighbourhood, to my grandmother’s house was a tennis park with many tennis courts. I decided I wanted to play tennis there. At home one day after school, I phoned the tennis park and asked if I could join the club. The person answering on the side said, I could become a member after paying a membership. For some reason I said I wasn’t white and that was it! She told me I couldn’t join the club because it was reserved for white membership only. I was a teenage girl; didn’t understand this rejection. All I wanted was to play tennis but didn’t have a tennis court to play on. I then found out about a tennis park reserved for ‘coloureds’. It meant my travelling there once a week to play tennis, taking two buses to get there. I would dress in all white tennis gear and go off with my racket, eagerly awaiting my hit on the tennis court.

 

My first tennis racket was bought second hand and had some gut strings broken. When I hit the ball on the broken parts, the ball would get stuck and couldn’t be hit. It was embarrassing for me the teenage sports girl. Fortunately, I didn’t grow up poor. My father was a welder, an artisan and worked to provide well for his family. My mother and two sisters were as supportive and encouraging of my playing sport. I was very excited when my father said he would work overtime so that I could get my own tennis racket.

 

My playing tennis didn’t last long. Soon I began table tennis, in a neighbour’s garage. About 20 players and myself would gather in the garage and have daily battles contesting hitting a small ball over a net on a table, in a confined space in a garage. If you won, you stayed on the table and kept playing. Most times I would be the only girl playing with and against the boys. Obviously, the boys dominated and I had to wait many rounds of play in between games and contestation. I had to get tougher and get stronger so I could challenge and win against the boys.

 

Without going into the details of my teenage sports life, I will say that I entered table tennis championships where I initially won some matches and lost in some tournaments. I practised daily because I wanted to improve my game. For me, my teenage life was about school, homework and sports practice, every day, including weekends.  I went on to become provincial sports champion and South African champion in singles and doubles events.

 

Alongside my development in sport, was my developing social justice consciousness, although I was a school girl and playing junior sport.

 

Playing Sport For Freedom

 

South Africa had an official government sport’s policy under apartheid. Whites played sport for whites only clubs and sports federations and only whites were eligible to represent South Africa internationally.

 

South Africa’s apartheid policies in society and sport were opposed within the country by the oppressed and disenfranchised people. These were the majority of people, who were not white, but racially categorised as African, Coloured and Indian. I was an oppressed teenage sports girl. I became aware of our society’s inequalities, of privileges accorded white people and atrocities committed against black people because of the colour of the skin.

 

Apartheid didn’t allow people to play sport together. The oppressed people in South Africa formed anti-apartheid sports structures and sports federations. After being rejected by the whites-only tennis club in my home city of Durban, I found a sports home in anti-apartheid, non-racial sport. Here we played sport with human dignity and no regard for skin colour. We had no racial categorization and no racial prejudice within our sport.

 

As junior players in sport, we became aware that we were not involved in sport just for sport. We became aware that we were oppressed by our government, that we didn’t have human rights, that we were discriminated against. Our sports federations protected us from the harshness of apartheid by providing sports development for oppressed children and youth players.

We played sport under the organization of the anti-apartheid sports structure, the South African Council on Sport (SACOS). This organisation was fierce and bold; it was also humane. Our sports leaders within SACOS were principled and rejected apartheid; demanding instead a non-racial, free South Africa that shared its resources amongst all South Africa’s people.

SACOS also took a bold decision not to play international sport because our South African sports teams were not representative of South Africa as a nation but of white, apartheid South Africa. The international world supported our boycott of international sport, but white South Africans opposed it vehemently.

Inequalities and discrimination were all around me. By the time I entered university, as a 17 year old, my social justice consciousness was high.

We played sport for freedom of South Africa first and for international sport second.  Our sports dreams were limited. The ceiling for our participation in sport was national sport where we would participate in South African championships. As oppressed people in South Africa, we chose this pathway through life; to play sport for freedom and to play in dignity and without racial prejudice and discrimination.

Since I was a teenage sports girl, I have spoken out against discrimination in sport and society. I always condemned apartheid; never supported apartheid’s horrendous policies. I knew I wanted to live in a society that belonged to all South Africans, not only a white minority grouping.

 

So my consciousness for a better; equitable, generous, humane society was very much part of my involvement in sport. I loved being involved in anti-apartheid sport; I wore my badge with great honour and respect. It wasn’t easy living with our choice to play anti-apartheid, non-racial sport. I was visited by the security police and suffered security police harassment and intimidation, arrested for protesting sports tours to South Africa, under investigation for ‘subversive’ activities opposing apartheid, stopped and searched at the airport for protest racial sport. But through it all, remained defiant, strong and bold, just like the leadership of anti-apartheid sport, who taught me to believe in a socially just society..

 

I was a university student, for several years; attending four universities: two in SA and one in the England. Throughout my university studies, I still chose anti-apartheid sport.

I attended whitedesignated universities in SA; to do this I had to apply for a permit to study at a white university. The sports union at the white universities were all affiliated to apartheid sport structures which supported the government’s apartheid policies. I did not play any sports at university in SA, not even at a recreational level. After attaining three degrees in SA, the first time I ever played university sport was at university in England. I represented the University of York in the English Universities table tennis championship where I reached the semifinals; then I got selected to represent English universities at the British universities championship.

Whilst at university in England, coming out of apartheid South Africa, deprived of so much scholarship and intellectual prowess on sport and society, my world exploded before my very eyes! I was blown away by all the books on sport and how it can transform societies.  It was exactly what we needed back home, in South Africa.

 

I began writing about sport at a time, in the 1980’s in SA, when there were no women journalists in sports media. I was a university student, not studying sport or journalism or media. I just desperately wanted to write about sport, particularly about how we played anti-apartheid sport. How we played with limited resources and no money in disadvantaged communities; yet we persevered and required admirable standards of play.

 

My earlier consciousness in sport was primarily around society’s discrimination of people, about apartheid’s racism, brutalities and prejudice. It was at the advent of our democratic South Africa birthing that my consciousness took on much more about society, particularly gender imbalances in sport.

 

And so, I started to write much more about women in sport. From the outset, my writing and publishing was focused on black women in sport because we discriminated against and we suffer because of our skin colour.

 

I began saying: ‘SA girls and women want to play sport. They are bold, beautiful, talented and penniless. Why do their sport talents go unnoticed in a country which prides itself on gender equality?’

 

Today, whilst I admire all women performances in sport, I really commend the international success of our black women athletes. For them it is just a little more difficult to achieve their international status, given the disadvantaged socio-economics they still face.

 

 

A Change Agent For Sport: Advocacy And Protest Through Writing And Publishing What Must Be Written

 

One of my happiest moments in my life was when I had my first sports article published in a newspaper. It was a story about an oppressed woman hockey player in Durban, who was one of South Africa’s best women hockey players. I couldn’t stop reading the article, glancing at it in the newspaper. I then went on to write much more ad have many published articles. Then it was onto opinion articles, giving my opinions about the state of the social positioning of sport in our apartheid, unequal society. I not only liked what I wrote: I also believed in what I wrote. I took a principled decision through my writings, to never support apartheid, never support an unequal society and racial prejudice.

 

I published my first book, rather daringly and spontaneously. I never thought about money and funding. It was my master’s thesis which was about the anti-apartheid sports struggle. I just knew this information which I had researched had to be read.

After that, my confidence catapulted, my believe in a free society was immense and more books followed. I distributed them freely, gave them out and people welcomed them with appreciation. Then came the start of print publications about sport in South Africa and sportswomen in SA. Today, about 25 years later, after the publication of my first print publication, I am still writing and publishing.

 

I have much freedom in writing. I write what must be written. My publications and books, from the outset, have never supported white privilege and white supremacy. I project and feature mostly black people in sport; their success and struggle stories. The women in sport are especially looked after and given much coverage and publicity with the publication and writing of ‘South African SportsWoman’.

 

I don’t write to be favourited or complimented or liked; I write and publish that what must be written. I write about our fabulous South African people in sport and also about injustices, inequalities and gender discrimination. I’m not afraid to call out racism, racial privilege, wrongs and limitations of SA’s sports network. I do this out of concern for a better and progressive society.

 

 

Sports Life Of Calling Out Society’s Inequalities 

 

I’ve been involved in sport from grassroots to international level. I have played club, regional, school and national sport; have coached, been a sports administrator and official, delegate to meetings and events. All the time, from my teenage sports girl years, I have been a volunteer in sport; never worked in formal employment in sport in sport and never been paid a salary. My seminar and conference talks, my research, my coaching, my administration time, has all been done, because I wanted to be involved and agreed to participate. The only payment was my happiness and the joyful moments created for those I was able to interact with and share information with.

For now I concentrate on my writing and publishing, which I independently own and manage; writing and providing platforms for women in sport, racial inequalities and the previously disadvantage athletes, as well as challenging the male, status quo entrenched sport media.

Leave a Reply

